On trying to equate rape and false accusations of rape

18 02 2011

I am in complete agreement with Db0 where he writes:

Note that I am not saying that being falsely accused of rape is not bad and can utterly damage your life, but it just does not even compare to the experience of being raped. Yes, both are subjective damages but the overwhelming anecdotes we have of rape survivors show psychological damage of such extent that it can never be repaired or avoided. Being falsely accused of rape on the other hand is only as bad as being falsely accused of many other very socially unacceptable crimes such as drug dealing and murder. The effect reach only as to the extent of people who know about your crimes and consider them bad enough.

A person falsely accused of rape (and convicted of course) may, at the worst case scenario lose friend and family and have their career ruined, but given time they can find new friends who will believe them and repair their social circle, even while hindered by the state. Many times they even clear their names eventually (otherwise we wouldn’t have such a nice influx of False Rape Accusation news stories for the Men’s Right crowd to cheer around). But apparently for some, even the short term damage of a false rape accusation that a male was eventually cleared from, compares to being actually raped.

Here’s the difference though, a rape victim most likely will never escape the damage of the event. Once the deed has been done, the scar will stay forever, no matter if the perpetrator is punished. You cannot undo the rape. You cannot restore the lost trust. You cannot wipe the memory triggers. Any story from rape victims that I’ve heard is magnitudes worse than most false rape accusation stories. And while a the occasional rape victim might take it better than others and survive with less emotional scars, on average the damage is far more severe.

It truly shames me as a male that I have to even point this out to others of my gender.

[L]et me suggest an idea to make males who dismiss the idea of the rape culture while simulataneously[sic] railing against false rape accusations. It might give them an idea of how it feels to be a woman in a rape culture. Ask them, if 0.5% of males being falsely accused is a horribly large amount, how they would feel if the percentage was 18%. Would this scare them of having relationships? Ask them how they would feel if they could be easily falsely convicted without any court proceedings. Would this terrify them? Ask them how they would feel if they could be instantly falsely convicted of rape without court proceedings by their wife, their friends, or their aunts, while walking their dog, while sleeping over at a friend’s party, while drinking at a bar. Would this isolate them in horror? Ask them how they would feel if they could be easily falsely convicted of rape by many females who acted in coordination and backed up each other’s story. Ask them how they would feel if the state, their family, their friends all told them that the only way to avoid being falsely convicted of rape without a trial was to constantly use a voice recorder or a camera to record everything that happens around them. Would they think this is a sensible solution? Ask them to imagine that all of these were true at the same time and imagine how it would feel to live their whole life in such an environment.And then remind them that this is how all women feel currently, only with worse psychological damage to boot.

Read the full post here


Actions

Information

6 responses

14 04 2011
bbb

If not for feminist brainwashing,
rape wouldn’t be considered nearly as bad.

A false accusation destroys the man’s life for ever.
A rape is 5 minute event, very forgettable.

Psychology is a pseudoscience.Victim mentality and
vindictive attitude among females make it so worse.

Lost trust? Give me a break, I never trust anyone
to begin with.

24 04 2011
Royce Christian

bbb,

Thank you for your opinion, but please take your privileged, misogynist bullshit elsewhere.

kthxbai.

22 06 2011
Gordon

“…….overwhelming anecdotes we have of rape survivors show psychological damage of such extent that it can never be repaired or avoided.”

Where the hell do you get this from. Women’s experiences of rape vary enormously. Some suffer very little at all, some enormously. Read the non-political scientific literature on this.

“being falsely accused of rape on the other hand is only as bad as being falsely accused of many other very socially unacceptable crimes such as drug dealing and murder.”

This is the most ridiculous statement I have ever read. Please stop blogging about things you clearly know very little about. Do a little research into the subject first and don’t just form arguments around your preconceived conclusions.

25 06 2011
Royce Christian

@Gordon

““…….overwhelming anecdotes we have of rape survivors show psychological damage of such extent that it can never be repaired or avoided.”

Where the hell do you get this from. Women’s experiences of rape vary enormously. Some suffer very little at all, some enormously. Read the non-political scientific literature on this.”

Well, first off, women who have been raped do actually share a pretty similar experience. It’s a violent act against a woman who did not consent to being touched in any way.

If you actually read anecdotes from victims and the broad scientific literature on the subject, it is pretty clear that yes, different women respond differently to having survived rape, some may react by taking their own life, others may suffer depression, insomnia, eating disorders, anxiety, phobias such as fear of mean, fear of women, fear of intimacy, fear of being left alone and fear of crowds, social anxiety issues, post traumatic stress, nightmares, paranoia and others that would form a list too long to repeat here. Sometimes it’s a combination of these things.

Even if it were to be conceded that some survivors of rape do not regard rape as a traumatic, life destroying event in itself, it does not then follow that there has been no impact or effect on the quality of life. Studies (Koss, 1985) have compared statements from victims of rape that acknowledge that the act they experience was rape, victims of rape that do not acknowledge the act as rape and those that have no experience of rape. Those that acknowledged the act and the unacknowledged both reported similar experiences following the attack (Orlando&Koss, 1983). The divergence came between the perceived level of violence and the intimacy between the victim and their assailant. You could also try brushing up on Rape Trauma Syndrome (Burgess, Wolbert and Holmstrom, 1974), you know, just for starters.

Then there are the well-established and documented effects of social stigma and isolation that may follow a rape.

So yeah, even though I did not write the article, I’m still standing with the author on this one.

Oh, and excellent use of the phrase “non-political scientific literature”. Good to know that you now have a catch-all phrase handy with which to label any contradictory scientific study on the impact of rape as “political” and therefore “irrelevant”.

““being falsely accused of rape on the other hand is only as bad as being falsely accused of many other very socially unacceptable crimes such as drug dealing and murder.”

This is the most ridiculous statement I have ever read. Please stop blogging about things you clearly know very little about. Do a little research into the subject first and don’t just form arguments around your preconceived conclusions.”

I don’t know, I have heard some pretty ridiculous statements in my time, such as “Women’s experiences of rape vary enormously”.

Please, next time do a little research into the subject before you comment on a post and ask the author to stop writing.

3 10 2011
Alec

Forgive me if I state from the outset that I have no desire to become embroiled in your ’cause’ or a target of your derision or intellectual scorn, however I would like to add a few salient thoughts.
My parents divorced when i was 7, I am an adult now, but when I was 8 years old I was abused and molested, eventually when I was 12 I was passed on to an older cousin whom continued to abused and rape me several time a week until I was 14.
The person who abused me was my own mother, when a new toyboy came along she arranged for me to be passed on to a close older female cousin … Do I hear self-righteous calls of ‘You should have reported it?’ Quite right too, and ignoring the fact I was 8 at the time and it was my mum, as an adult now I applaud your commonsense approach, but mum drummed it into me that I told anyone the authorities would place both my brothers and me ‘in care’! Mum repeatedly said that if we were ever taken away from her she’d kill herself …
My cousin and me dragged on until I was 14, the reason I didn’t end it sooner was my cousin threatened to go to tell her mum, and the police that I had raped her …
I have never wanted or had children of my own, and I spent quite a few years in therapy dealing with the guilt, damage and fall-out of having being abused and betrayed by everyone I thought I could trust.
My mother was a pillar of the community and a well-respected woman, when she died I tried to speak out, but was told not to ‘talk ill of the dead’. My youngest brother had a breakdown, my eldest end up on drugs has not been seen of heard for over 15 years …
Rape, and the threat of having the tables turned on you because society is not prepared to confront the notion that a mother/women is capable or motivated to carry out such a crime, sets up a perfect ‘Catch 22′.
I may have survived, but it has been at a huge cost, one that still forms part of my nightmares … I buried the truth in 68, my mum in 84, my brother in 98, my gran in 00, it took until 04 for anyone to want to hear me say the words ‘I was raped’. Rape and false rape allegations, both cause damage and leave casualties, arguments over statistics and our skewed justice system, robs the survivors of these crimes – of any lingering shred of dignity they might be clinging on to. Over the years I have developed a healthy dislike of self-righteous grandstanding, as well as Intellectual smugness, which is why I decline to add anything else to what is clearly an emotive and contentious subject.

2 11 2011
RC

Thank you for your contribution.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

